Darren Shan Messageboard

You are here: Home :: Forum Home :: Books :: Zom-B :: Thread

Is B a Boy or a Girl?

Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 34

Joined 2014-06-11

PM

Hi everyone! I have just finished the first Zom-B book. It is very good, but I am confused on one thing. Is B a boy or a girl? I at first assumed B was a boy, because it sounds like more of a boy’s name, and the illustrations portrayed B as a boy. He does and says a lot of things that you would only normally hear a boy say. However, at the end of the book, B is revealed to be a girl! WTF??????? What happened? I’m all for female protagonists, but you at least have to keep it realistic! Is B a boy or a girl? I need ANSWERS! This is just a small problem in an otherwise perfect book! Perhaps the illustrator never actually read the book? Who was the illustrator. I am a noob that needs educating! HELP ME!!!!!!!!!!!

Rank
Rank
Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 2235

Joined 2010-04-30

PM

B or Becky, is biologically Female. In the first book, she was intentionally shown from behind, or at an angle where you could not see her front until the reveal regarding her character. It has been expressed, albeit I forget exactly where, that this tidbit of information was presented the way it was as the first clue that the first thing to realize with this series is that things are rarely as they appear, a running theme in the series. Readers may identify her as a ‘tomboy’. As the series progresses, you’ll see what I mean.

There is speculation about her sexuality, whether she is Bi, Trans ect. It hasn’t been touched on, but it could be possible.

Signature

~*~Member 01’ - Mod 10’~*~
          Every post you make,
          Every rule you break,
          I’ll be watching you.

~*~13/11/2010//27/03/2014~*~

Rank
Rank

Total Posts: 39

Joined 2014-05-17

PM