Lord LossDarren Shan - The DemonataShanville Monthly
HomeFan ArtCoversReviewsBooksGo to ExtrasDownloadsShop

Vampires Site

The Tainted Poet - reviewed by "The Tainted Poet"


Wolf Island is the 8th book in Darren Shan's book series The Demonata. Told from the POV of Grubbs Grady, this book coincides with the events in book 7 (and as well as book 9 (Dark Calling), which comes out November this year).

Action packed and face paced, do not let the size of it fool you! Events that had you guessing in book 7 come clear and explanations are given where they weren't in the past. You learn a lot of new things about our hero, Grubbs. In the past, we have known Grubbs to be many things: Unsure, funny, cowardly... but beastly?? Lets just say in Wolf Island, things (and people!) get monstrous. I really enjoyed the fact that Darren Shan went more into the Werewolf perspective. We also learned a lot more about the Lambs, which I wouldn't have expected since they didn't necessarily have a huge part in previous novels. Darren Shan delved us deeper into Grubb's world... one which I hope to never live in. All together a great book. Now what I want to know is... What's Kernel up to?!

Rating: 4.5/5.0




© Darren Shan 2005. All rights reserved.